All Athletics Menu

1976 World Championships in Athletics Malmo, Sweden

1976 IAAF World Championships - Malmo - Men's 50km Race Walk



Host City: Malmö, Sweden
Dates: 18 September 1976
Nations participating: 20
Athletes participating: 42
    Main venue: Malmö Stadion
Overview by IAAF   Malmö stadion 
The IAAF provided compensation for the world’s 50 kilometre walkers by arranging this championship race for an event which had been reluctantly dropped from the programme of the 1976 Olympics. That development was in response to IOC requests to international federations for a general reduction in the size of the Olympic Games. The IAAF Bulletin of April 1973 reported: “The Council therefore felt that the elimination of the 50Km Walking Race might be the least harmful step to take.” There were also concerns about the disruption of traffic caused in an age when the event, like a marathon, took place on public roads rather than a compact circuit. So instead of gathering in Montréal that August, the world’s best 50Km walkers met in Malmö in September under the auspices of the IAAF with the Svenska FriIdrottsforbundet. Victory went to 1972 Olympic silver medallist Soldatenko, who had become known as the “Alma Ata hippie”. At 37 years 258 days, he became the oldest ever male IAAF World Championship winner in an event on the main championship programme (a record which stood until Yohann Diniz’s victory 41 years later). The Soviet walker sped away from a strong Mexican challenge, passing halfway in 1:56:55. Colín, disqualified in the Olympic 20Km earlier in the summer, tried to stay with Soldatenko but slipped from second to fourth in the closing stages. The silver went to another Mexican, Vera, while the 20 year-old Salonen, in his first international race, took the bronze. The winner’s 10Ks were covered in 47:30, 46:50, 45:10, 45:56 and 49:14.


Standing records prior to the 1976 World Athletics Championships
World record  Bernd Kannenberg (GDR) 3:52:45 27 May 1972 Bremen, West Germany
Championship record New event


  50km Race Walk 18 September
1 Veniamin Soldatenko URS 3.54.40
2 Enrique Vera MEX 3.58.14
3 Reima Salonen FIN 3.58.53
4 Domingo Colín MEX 4.00.34
5 Matthias Kröl GDR 4.00.58
6 Yevgeniy Lyungin URS 4.04.36
7 Paolo Grecucci ITA 4.04.59
8 Ralf Knütter GDR 4.05.41
9 Gerhard Weidner FRG 4.06.20
10 Yevgeniy Yevsyukov URS 4.07.14
11 Bogusław Kmiecik POL 4.09.30
12 Steffan Müller GDR 4.10.17
13 Bob Dobson GBR 4.10.20
14 Agustín Argenti ESP 4.11.04
15 Lennart Lundgren SWE 4.11.43
16 Heinrich Schubert FRG 4.11.55
17 Franco Vecchio ITA 4.12.14
18 Bohdan Bułakowski POL 4.13.20
19 Hans Binder FRG 4.13.49
20 Seppo Immonen FIN 4.15.28
21 Larry Young USA 4.16.47
22 Willy Sawall AUS 4.18.27
23 Timothy Ericsson AUS 4.20.23
24 Ferenc Danovsky HUN 4.22.36
25 Stefan Ingvarsson SWE 4.26.45
26 Lucien Faber LUX 4.26.48
27 August Hirt USA 4.28.35
28 Pat Farrelly CAN 4.29.54
29 Robin Whyte AUS 4.30.08
30 Shaul Ladany ISR 4.33.02
31 Claude Saurriat FRA 4.34.57
32 Roy Thorpe GBR 4.35.57
33 Glen Sweazey CAN 4.36.00
34 Max Grob SUI 4.38.08
35 Nico Schroten NED 4.42.53
36 Helmut Bueck CAN 4.50.52
37 Henry Klein ISV 5.09.04
Gérard Lelièvre FRA DNF
Carl Lawton GBR DNF
Fred Godwin USA DNF
Vittorio Visini ITA DNF
Bengt Simonsen SWE DQ




Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events