All Athletics Menu

2007 World Championships in Athletics Osaka, Japan

2007 11th IAAF World Championships - Osaka - Men's 10,000m



Host City: Osaka, Japan
Dates: 24 August - 2 September 2007
Nations participating: 200
Athletes participating: 1,978
    Main venue: Nagai Stadium
Overview by IAAF    nagai stadium01
Having beaten Bekele at the World Cross-Country Championships in sweltering conditions, Tadese took on the pace in the hot (30°C) and humid (65%) Nagai Stadium. Kilometre splits varying between 2:43.2 and 2:45.6 took the field through halfway in 13:42.98, and burned off half of the contenders. By 8000m (21:54.58), only four were left in contention, with Bekele, Sihine and Mathathi latched on to the Eritrean. Mathathi took the lead with three laps to go, and Tadese immediately lost touch. The Kenyan’s next lap was covered in 61.12, but did not dissuade the two Ethiopians. Sihine went past Mathathi just after the bell, and raced ahead by up to eight metres. Some felt that Bekele might be heading for defeat, but he was effectively toying with the opposition. He simply changed gears and reeled his teammate in with 150m left, then flowed past in majestic fashion to win by 20m. His last lap took 55.51 compared with Sihine’s 59.0, both substantially quicker than Mathathi’s 62.2. For both Ethiopians it was a third consecutive 10,000m medal.
 The Men's 10,000 metres event at the 2007 World Championships in Athletics took place on 27 August 2007 at the Nagai Stadium in Osaka, Japan.


Prior to the competition, the following world and championship records were as follows.

World record  Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) 26:17.53 Bruxelles, Belgium 26 August 2005
Championship record  Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) 26:49.57 Paris, France 24 August 2003
World leading  Sileshi Sihine (ETH) 26:48.73 Hengelo, Netherlands 26 May 2007
  10,000m 27 August

Event report: men's 10,000m Final

Just when Sileshi Sihine thought he was about to take over Kenenisa Bekele’s mantle, Bekele pulled out a sub-56sec last lap to reassert his reign and rack up his third 10,000m World title in a row with victory in 27min 05.90sec. One more and he will equal compatriot Haile Grebreselassie’s four titles.

It is already 16 years since a Kenyan won this crown and Martin Mathati must have thought, with two laps to go, that he was going to break the jinx. But just when he appeared to be wrenching free from the Ethiopian stranglehold, first Sihine then Bekele came roaring past and the Kenyan has to be content with bronze.

For Bekele, it was mission accomplished in his one and only 10,000m of the summer as he fulfilled all the forecasts in typical style. After dropping out of the IAAF World Cross Country Championships in March, he has shown that that was just an uncharacteristic glitch.

In that race, it was Zersenay Tadesse (ERI) who benefited and it was the same man who here took on all the burden of the pacemaking in his one-man assault on the Ethiopian hierarchy.

With Tadesse pulling the field round there was already a break in the field of 22 after the first kilometre was ticked off in 2:44.15. Already the main rivals were lined up behind the Eritrean, including three Ethiopians and three Kenyans.

With Tadesse reeling off a metronomic sub-2:45 kilometres in the sapping 30C heat and 65 per cent humidity, Ethiopian Gebre-egziabher Gebremariam, who had been defeated by Tadesse in the African Games, took the lead in an attempt to stem the relentless attack.

Tadesse was having none of it though and went straight back up front to continue pushing the pace in a brave do-or-die exhibition of front running.

The halfway mark went by in 13:42 98 and Ahmad Hassan Abdullah of Qatar was the first to crack in the breakaway group of 10 as he peeled off the back and headed straight for the dressing rooms.

Again Gebremariam tried to halt Tadesse but once again he shrugged aside the tall Ethiopian. Suddenly there were only East Africans left including an American born in Somalia, Abdi Abdirahman, but with six laps to go even he had to admit defeat.

Then Tadesse upped the ante even more, going through 8000m with a strength- sapping 2:40 kilometre that suddenly reduced the leading group to four.  

Bekele was looking easy but so were Sihine and Mathati, who is based in Japan, looking unconcerned. If he was feeling the pace, he didn’t show it.

With three laps to go Mathati, only second in the Kenyan trials, made his move, a bold attempt to run the legs off the Ethiopians. Momentarily, a gap opened that Sihine plugged, only for an apparently flagging Bekele to haul himself back.

"I was tired," Bekele explained.

"But after a moment, my body started to recover a bit, and when the other guy took the lead, I encouraged Sileshi to go after him. If I could have, I would have."

Thus, Sihine sped past Mathati and for a split second it looked as though he would pull off a sensational upset.

But Bekele was far from finished and when he turned on his trademark sprint, his compatriot had no answer while Mathati had settled for bronze long since.

"I used everything I had to come back," Bekele said, "and when I caught Sileshi, of course I had to pass him."

Osaka 2007 News Team/mb

1 Kenenisa Bekele ETH 13 Jun 82 27.05.90
2 Sileshi Sihine ETH 29 Jan 83 27.09.03
3 Martin Mathathi KEN 25 Dec 85 27.12.17
4 Zersenay Tadese ERI 1 Jan 82 27.21.37
5 Josphat Muchiri KEN 12 Feb 85 27.31.41
6 Gebregziabher Gebremariam ETH 10 Sep 84 27.44.58
7 Abdi Abdirahman USA 1 Jan 77 27.56.62
8 Josephat Menjo KEN 20 Aug 79 28.25.67
9 Dathan Ritzenhein USA 30 Dec 82 28.28.59
10 Boniface Kiprop UGA 12 Oct 85 28.30.99
11 Galen Rupp USA 8 May 86 28.41.71
12 Kensuke Takezawa JPN 11 Oct 86 28.51.69
13 Tadesse Tola ETH 31 Oct 87 28.51.75
14 Alejandro Suarez MEX 30 Nov 80 28.52.19
15 Wilson Busienei UGA 18 Aug 81 29.24.72
16 Dickson Marwa Mkami TAN 6 Mar 82 29.25.91
17 Kazuhiro Maeda JPN 19 Apr 81 29.48.17
18 Michael Aish NZL 24 Jul 76 30.34.16
Simon Bairu CAN 8 Aug 83 DNF
Abdullah Ahmad Hassan QAT 29 Jul 81 DNF
Khalid El Amri MAR 20 Mar 77 DNF
Essa Ismail Rashed QAT 14 Dec 86 DNF
- Hasan Mahboob BRN DNS
- David Galvan MEX DNS

27 AUG 2007 21:40 

1 535 Gebregziabher Gebremariam ETH ETH 26:52.33 26:52.33
2 1062 Wilson Kipkemei Busienei UGA UGA 27:21.55  
3 828 David Galván MEX MEX 27:33.96 27:33.96
4 755 Kensuke Takezawa JPN JPN 27:45.59 27:45.59
5 499 Zersenay Tadese ERI ERI 26:37.25 27:00.30
6 407 Ali Hasan Mahbood BRN BRN 27:58.88 28:26.6
7 832 Alejandro Suárez MEX MEX 27:43.92 27:43.92
8 540 Tadese Tola ETH ETH 27:04.89 27:04.89
9 777 Josphat Kiprono Menjo KEN KEN 27:04.61 27:04.61
10 539 Sileshi Sihine ETH ETH 26:39.69 26:48.73
11 1136 Galen Rupp USA USA 27:33.48 27:33.48
12 778 Josphat Muchiri Ndambiri KEN KEN 27:04.79 27:28.38
13 1132 Dathan Ritzenhein USA USA 27:35.65 28:31.88
14 746 Kazuhiro Maeda JPN JPN 27:56.92 27:56.92
15 1040 Dickson Marwa TAN TAN 27:38.58 27:38.58
16 1065 Boniface Toroitich Kiprop UGA UGA 26:39.77 28:05.66
17 1082 Abdihakem Abdirahman USA USA 27:22.81 27:31.46
18 916 Ahmad Hassan Abdullah QAT QAT 26:38.76 27:33.87
19 815 Khalid El Aamri MAR MAR 27:26.24 27:30.94
20 531 Kenenisa Bekele ETH ETH 26:17.53  
21 925 Essa Ismail Rashed QAT QAT 27:20.97  
22 418 Simon Bairu CAN CAN 27:50.71 27:50.71
23 875 Michael Aish NZL NZL 27:46.37 27:46.37
24 776 Martin Irungu Mathathi KEN KEN 27:08.42 27:09.90




Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events