All Athletics Menu

1900 Olympic Games Paris, France - Men's Triple Jump



Host City: Paris, France Format: Final only.
Date Started: July 16, 1900
Date Finished: July 16, 1900
(Competitors: 13; Countries: 6)
Venue(s): Catalan Cross, Boulogne Forest, Paris
Overview by IAAF velodrome_de_vincennes.png 
Prinstein won handily from the reigning champion, and the lanky (1.93) Lewis Sheldon. Prinstein thus gained some measure of satisfaction after the distasteful events of the long jump.
Summary by
This event was not on the original program. Athletes in the standing triple jump asked for it to be held, as most of them did not understand the format of that event. Journal des Sports described it as "perfectly boring." There could be no real favorites as the event was rarely held at that time. Meyer Prinstein won the gold medal which he thought he had deserved in the long jump, with defending champion James Connolly placing second. Prinstein remains the only person to have won both the long and triple jump at the Olympics.
Myer Prinstein set a new Olympic record with 14.47 metres.
Triple Jump Men Final 16 July
Prinstein defeated the defending champion Connolly to win the second Olympic triple jump competition. Distances for most of the competitors are unknown, as are placings after sixth.
Rank Mark Athlete Country NOC Age Records Notes
1 14.47 Meyer Prinstein United States USA 21 OR
2 13.97 James B. Connolly United States USA 31
3 13.64 Lewis Sheldon United States USA 25
4 Pat Leahy Great Britain GBR 22
5 Albert Delannoy France FRA
6 Alexandre Tuffèri France FRA 23
AC Frank Jarvis United States USA 21
AC John McLean United States USA 22
AC Daniel Horton United States USA 20
AC Karl Gustaf Staaf Sweden SWE 19
AC Eric Lemming Sweden SWE 20
AC Waldemar Steffen Germany GER 27
AC Pál Koppán Hungary HUN 21




Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Olympic Games



All Events


Athletics in Olympic Games




You are here: Home Athletics Olympic Games (Athletics) 1900 Paris 1900 Olympic Games Paris, France - Men's Triple Jump